Audrey’s Concerto

When I stepped into Audrey’s Concerto, I felt like I was transported out of Bensonhurst, Brooklyn. The cute and cozy pastry shop decorated with wooden furniture and simple, white walls adorned by Audrey’s logo offers a breath of fresh air from the traditional Chinese bakeries in the surrounding area. As I stepped through the doors, I was immediately drawn to the counter filled with a myriad of colorful treats that blended Eastern and Western influences; the desserts ranged from green tea tiramisu with red beans to green tea mango mousse to pumpkin pie.

While scanning the little shop that seated 13 people at maximum, I noted the cute custom cakes on display that resembled more like pieces of art than edible pastries; on display were cakes shaped like a Chanel bag and a classy stiletto. Foot-high, chocolate Eiffel Towers and colorful macarons also lined the shelves of the bakery for sale. Also important to note was the sign that said “CASH ONLY”.

Audrey's Concerto

IMG_8311

Chocolate cupcake with strawberry buttercream on display

Chocolate cupcake with strawberry buttercream on display

Excited but full, I browsed the chalkboard menu hanging on top of the wall for drinks. Their drink menu offered coffee and latte, but focused more on various teas and specialty beverages with honey. I ordered the earl grey tea with milk and sugar, while my friend ordered the lavender rose with honey. Unable to escape the temptation of the beautiful desserts calling out to me, I also ordered the osmanthus jelly with lychee pudding.

Osmanthus jelly with lychee pudding

Osmanthus jelly with lychee pudding

The osmanthus jelly with lychee pudding was the ideal choice for a light, refreshing dessert after a heavy meal. The osmanthus jelly is a dessert made from the osmanthus flower, which gives a light apricot-like flavor to the jelly. I have not seen osmanthus jelly offered elsewhere in New York so far. I was so happy to be able to taste it here, as I have only had it in dim sum restaurants in Hong Kong before. The osmanthus jelly layer was a perfect precursor to the bottom layer of lychee pudding, which was light like a mousse and imbued with lychee flavor as if I was eating the actual fruit itself. One dessert was not enough! I’ll certainly have to be back to try the other creative flavors at Audrey’s Concerto :).

Audrey’s Concerto
2379 86th St.
Brooklyn, NY 11214
(718) 266-2829

This entry was posted in Audrey's Concerto, Brooklyn, dessert, eateries, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

