Spot

Happy new year, everyone!

Since it’s a new year, I decided we’d start it off with something sweet =)…so I introduce to you Spot dessert bar.

Fatty Mama and I decided to drop by for some post-dinner desserts after I read about this fairly new dessert spot. The posh but intimate little place was tucked away inconspicuously in the basement on the busy main street of St. Mark’s. It took us a while to spot it (pun not intended), but we were determined to get our desserts and we succeeded. Har har har…

The moment we stepped through the door, I felt like we entered a different world. We entered the “mini-hallway” lined with a fake grass rug that led us into the dessert bar. The decor felt very laid back but cutesy with wood-paneled walls and wooden tables.

While I was ogling at what everyone else ordered, the waitress gave us our menus.

The menu offered a range of different hot/cold drinks, dessert tapas, ice creams/sorbets, cupcakes, and puddings.


After some deliberation, I decided to get the white miso semifreddo dessert tapa. It sounded weird, but exotic, so I knew I had to get it. Hehe. Fatty Mama went with the vanilla caramel vietnamese coffee cupcake and a cup of hot thai milk coffee. I waited curiously for our desserts and what we got gave me giggles! Hehehe… 😀

The desserts literally glittered and sparkled!!!

 

White Miso Semifreddo Dessert Tapa

Look closely at the sparkly sugar! =D

How did the white miso and olive oil taste in the dessert, you might ask? Surprisingly, it was quite good because the slighty salty and buttery taste really balanced the sweetness of the dish. The olive oil cream was only lightly lined between the cake layers, so that it wasn’t grossly creamy. The delicious raspberry sorbet was also a nice tangy treat to the tongue. The crunchy graham cracker crumbs on the bottom of the sorbet made it extra delightful.

 

Vanilla Caramel Vietnamese Coffee Cupcake

The cupcake sparkled too! 😀

Thai Milk Coffee

Thai Milk Coffee

How did I like my dessert there? I’ll let this picture answer for me. 😉

Mmm…I can’t wait to go back and try a different dessert! 😀

This entry was posted in dessert, Manhattan, Spot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spot

  1. Fatty Mama says:

    yummmmmmmmmmmmm. try the rice krispie dessert next time 😉

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Ahh!! I just finished dinner and now I’m craving this! Looks like a great dessert place~ I peeked at the menu more closely and all their tapas dishes sound so unique (i.e. rice in the “Poached” Persimmon?). heheh, can’t wait to try them out!

    Like

  3. Channie says:

    Nice pictures. Where are the rest of the places you’ve been to? I know there are a lot more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

